Luis Suárez and González González during the Spanish Supercup


Supercup: "VAR forgave two penaltis to Atlético and one to Barça"

Published:10/01/2020 - 12:45h

Updated:10/01/2020 - 13:26h

The semifinal of the Spanish Supercup between Barça and Atlético demanded a lot from the referees, and ended with numerous decisive plays reviewed by the VAR. Some experts believe that there were mistakes, and that a penalty was forgiven to the 'azulgranas' and two to the 'rojiblancos'

Tickets for FC Barcelona matches

FC Barcelona and Athletic contested this Thursday a duel of madness, that left to the Madrilenian in the final of the Supercopa of Spain. Although Leo Messi and Antoine Griezmann neutralised the initial goal of Koke, the Catalans trusted the last stretch of the clash, in which Álvaro Morata empató after a penalti of Net on Vitolo and Ángel Correa decanted the scales for his a short minutes of the end.

The arbitration was protagonist along the party, since there was numerous queries to the VAR that were decisive. According to one of the experts of 'Sportive World', the ex referee of First Division César Barrenechea Montero, the trencilla main of the meeting, González González, was not to the height of the circumstances, and his performance was not hit because it was missing him decision and less dependency of the support of the technology.

The analyst in question signals that to the 'colchoneros' forgave them two penaltis against, beginning by one that took place in the minute 26. The victim in this action was Arturo Vidal that in his conflict in the area bumped with Felipe and Stefan Savic, after what specifies that "there is demolish to the Chilean midfield player, embrace him, throw him". "It has to pitar penalti and no it pita, and neither the VAR internviene", adds .

Also it criticises the election made happened the half hour, when it took out yellow to Thomas by a manotazo to Samuel Umtiti. In this case, it concretises that "if the referee has seen it is red and has to pitar penalti". "What can not is only sanction with yellow. The image is clear. If the balloon was at stake is penalti equal. And if it interprets that it was not it, also because it is aggression. It is possible that the referee do not consider that there is aggression but only push with the unemployed game", insists.

Barrenechea Montero insists in that the criterion in the faults and the advantages neither followed a clear-cut line, although yes it gives his approval to other played deteminantes. In other three revised actions, in the goal of Koke and in the cancelled to Leo Messi and Gerard Hammered, considers that atinó with the verdict, since there was not hand of Joao Félix, yes of the Argentinian and a light offside of Vidal that prevented to validate the so much of the central.

In addition to giving the seen well also to the penalti pitado by fault of Net on Vitolo, also mentions that there was penalti of the Barcelonan by hand, in a centre that in the minute 83 struck him of involuntary form and the referee descartó after consulting the screen. "Yes there is penalti. Short the path of the balloon and the spherical falls died. Therefore, there is hand. It does not sanction with penalti, and is an error", finalises the study of the half in question.

The Barça did not look for excuses after the party

Although some, as Luis Suárez, recognised that anímicamente the hits of the VAR had been hard, the Barça did not look for excuses after the defeat, and did not justify it signalling to the arbitration. So much Messi like Antoine Griezmann, that also appeared in front of the media, did reference to the own errors of the team, and recalcaron that it is necessary to improve to avoid more discontents in the future.

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 25
FC Barcelona

FC Barcelona - Eibar

Saturday, 22 of February of 2020 16:00h
Estadio Camp Nou
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read