Martínez Munuera sancionando con una tarjeta amarilla a Ronald Araújo

WAS THE JUDGE WRONG IN WHINING PENALTY ON VINÍCIUS?

The CTA approves the controversial refereeing of Martínez Munuera in the final between Barça and Mad

Published:15/01/2024 - 17:28h

Updated:15/01/2024 - 17:28h

The refereeing of Martínez Munuera in the match between Real Madrid and FC Barcelona took place relatively normally, with almost no notable incidents, except for the controversial sanction of the penalty against Vinícius Júnior committed by Ronald Araújo, which has been the subject of a great deal of attention debate

Calendar of FC Barcelona

The past Sunday, in the final of the Supercopa of Spain, the FC Barcelona went clearly surpassed by the Real Madrid in every aspect of the game. Although the defeat of the Barcelona club was mainly related with a sportive performance quite scarce by part of the square culé, is innegable that in the performance of the referee, Juan Martínez Munuera, there was a punctual action that prejudiced to the combined Catalan and that it could perfectly have been subjected to a healthy debate on if it was or no sancionable.

However, as it informs 'Sportive World', the Technical Committee of Referees has showed calm and satisfied after reviewing the referee's performance in the commitment between the combined of Chamartín and the one of the City Condal, tildándola even of excellent. This is especially notable given the scrutiny that went to confront the referee's body because of the controversy generated by the 'case Negreira' at the end of the past week.

Nevertheless, in the meeting between Barcelona and merengues, in spite of the quantity of faults committed by both teams (seven the Madrid and 12 the Barça) and of some fluidity in the game, there was an action that turned into an authentic reason of discussion by the rigorous of the sanction. The played in question would be the penalti committed by Ronald Araújo on Vinícius Júnior, that resulted in the 3-1 in favour of the whites in a moment in which the picture blaugrana was motivated by the big annotation of Robert Lewandowski and could have aspired to a traced back, which saw frustrated after this lapidarian target.

The action that generated the controversy in the Madrid-Barça

The controversy arises as a result of the subjection of the charrúa on the carioca, although Martínez Munuera did not doubt in sanctioning the maximum penalty. An obviously questioned action with vehemence by the parcialidad of the FC Barcelona, combined that argued that it was not the sufficiently conclusive as to demolish to the '7' of the White House, seeing it as a normal dispute by the balloon in a party.

This controversy played generated a big variety of opinions around the rigurosidad of the sanction. In fact, Eduardo Iturralde González, a referee with a wide experience (412 commitments) and at present referee's specialist in 'ACE' and the 'BE', affirmed the following when valuing this played: "it is not sufficient for pitar penalti. It is a played in which the defender puts the hand above the shoulder of the forward and, when seeing that it no longer arrives to the balloon, leaves fall. For me, it is not sufficient for pitar penalti".

Like addition, in the small 'rifirrafe' armed by the evident rage of the Barça after this decision of Martínez Munuera, finished being expelled José Ramón de la Fuente, trainer of goalkeepers of the cast culé. This decision, taken without mediating words by the Valencian judge, would base in a clear "protest and ostensible" from the bench by part of the member of the 'staff' technical culé, which him marginará of the commitment in front of the Unionistas of Salamanca by the Glass of Rey and the Real Betis by LaLiga.

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 38
Sevilla
FC Barcelona

Sevilla - FC Barcelona

Sunday, 26 of May of 2024 21:00h
Estadio Ramón Sánchez-Pizjuán
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read