Gundogan levanta la primera Champions League del Manchester City


Barça, Bayern, United, City... The teams that have won the League, Cup and Champions League

Published:11/06/2023 - 00:19h

Updated:11/06/2023 - 00:19h

Throughout history, eight teams have managed to win the League, National Cup and European Cup in the same season. Manchester City has been the last to join this select list, with Pep Guardiola as the top leader

Calendar of FC Barcelona

The Manchester City has topped like champion of Europe after winning, with a lot of suffering and suspense, to the Inter of Milan. The goal of Rodri marked the difference in a very tightened party, in which the ones of Pep Guardiola had to resist, change of plan and reinvent to carry the Champions League for the first time in his history. It has been the perfect end for the picture 'citizen', that has 'tieed up' the triplete of titles.

They topped in the Premier League, after a traced back in front of the Arsenal, and won the FA Cup in front of the Manchester United. It was missing them the star of the League of Champions to add the first triplete of his history, to go in in a selecta smart of teams that have won the League, Glass and 'Orejona' in a same season.

The list of winners of the triplete

The first team that topped with a triplete was the Celtic of Glasgow enl to season 1966-1967, with Johnstone and Lennox like maximum stars. They turned into the first and only Scottish team in raising the Glass of Europe, after topping in the League and national Glass. It followed him the Ajax of Johan Cruyff in the 1971-72, in a campaign in which, for example, only registered four ties and a defeat.

The PSV Dutch followed him 16 years afterwards, in the 1987-1988. It left to the Real Madrid on the way and imposed to the Benfica in the final, carrying the victory in batch of penaltis. After eleven years without tripletes in Europe, went the Manchester United that imposed of the hand of Alex Fergurson, with David Beckham or Solskjaer like maximum references in the team.

Two tripletes of the FC Barcelona

The following was the FC Barcelona of Pep Guardiola in the 2008-09, with Lionel Messi in his way to turn into the best player of the history. The culés carried the League and imposed in the final of the Glass of the King in front of the Athletic Club and, in the Champions, confronted to the Manchester United of Cristiano Ronaldo, with goals of 'The Flea' and Eto'or. This year, finished carrying the sextete.

The true is that a season afterwards the Inter carried the triplete, led by José Mourinho. It was the first European title from 1965, with an exceptional command in Italy. Three years afterwards, the Bayern of Munich did the same with Ribery, Robben, Neuer or Kroos of stars. In Europe, the ones of Heynckes imposed in front of the Borussia Dortmund. In the 2014-2015, later, the blaugrana went back to impose in Spain and Europe, with LuisEnrique to the control. Precisely, it went the last time that the Catalans won an UCL.

The Bayern and City, the last in achieving it

During the season 2019-20 and after imposing in front of the Paris Saint-Germain in Lisbon, the Bayern of Munich did 'big' to world-wide level after adding a sextete of titles, something that until then only had achieved the culés. Now, the City has topped with his first triplete... And with Pep Guardiola like big protagonist and absolute leader of a team that, to day of today, aims also to win the sextete.

Next match of FC Barcelona

Champions League | Jornada 2
FC Barcelona

Oporto - FC Barcelona

Wednesday, 4 of October of 2023 21:00h
Estadio do Dragão
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read