The referee of the match speaks with Xavi


What did the referee and the VAR do in the penalty not awarded to Eintracht?

Published:15/04/2022 - 02:59h

Updated:15/04/2022 - 02:59h

Nearing the 60th minute, a supposed hand by Borré in the area generated protests from the Catalan players. But, an inconvenience between the VAR and the referee caused confusion in all those present

Calendar of FC Barcelona

The meeting between the FC Barcelona and the Eintracht Frankfurt was not exento of controversy. The party of turn of the quarter-finals of the Europe League contested like an authentic 'final', with the two teams leaving everything in the field and playing to a frantic level that grieve gave 'break' to the viewer. In the middle of so much vertigo, an action generated controversy in the Camp Nou and in all inflate them barcelonistas.

And it is that arriving to the minute 60 of the party, Santos Erased and Frenkie of Jong 'peeled' a balloon in the area that casually hit in the hand of the Colombian. It was a haphazard action that Artur Manuel Soares Dias, the referee of the meeting, decided not sanctioning like penalti, with just reason. However, what sucedió after the controversy caused confusion in all the viewers of the party, inside and out of the stadium.

The central judge detained the crash by an apparent called from the room VOR. After some minutes, the Portuguese approached until the side of the field, but, in place to review the action in the monitor of the VAR, put some headphones, by means of which warned him that there was not penal. The reason of the demora was that to the referee did not work him the intercommunicator, and had to change it by one that did not cause him inconvenient.

Afterwards of the episode, the game continued with normality, although the desbarajuste generated by the technology asistencial caused a stray important of time, that afterwards was replaced in the supplementary. In spite of this, in the final minutes of the meeting the Barça if had an opportunity from the 'eleven steps', that Memphis, after a second of suspense, knew to capitalise to put the 2-3 in the marker. However, this did not suffice him to the culés to happen of round.

One for each team

In the party of gone, contested in the Deutsche Bank Park, the VAR him deshabilitó a shot from the penalty spot to the team germano. A swept of Busquets on Santos Erased did that the referee of this crash sanctioned the fault. But, afterwards to be reviewed from the room VOR, arrived to the determination that it had not been at all, with all reason, and the duel finished in tie.

Next match of FC Barcelona

Champions League | Jornada 2
FC Barcelona

Oporto - FC Barcelona

Wednesday, 4 of October of 2023 21:00h
Estadio do Dragão
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read