Leo Messi and Luka Modric, Golden Ball winners, in a match between FC Barcelona and Real Madrid


The clubs that have won more Golden Balls

Published:1/12/2019 - 19:20h

Updated:2/12/2019 - 14:46h

This Monday, December 2, the Golden Ball gala is celebrated in Paris. These are the clubs that have won the prize awarded by 'France Football' in more occasions

Tickets for FC Barcelona matches

The Balloon of Gold 2019 turns into the big protagonist of this Monday, in which it will detain during some hours the world-wide football. From the 18:00 (peninsular schedule Spanish), all the eyes will be put on the Théâtre du Châtelet of Paris, where in a big meeting of stars will announce the winner of the trophy to the Best Player of the Year that delivers the presitigiosa magazine 'France Football' in collaboration with the newspaper 'L'Équipe'.

From his creation in 1956, the award has suffered some changes, but has gone writing a list of winners of legend. Some of the footballers more talentosos of the history have received this distinction by his merits on the lawn, giving also wings to the groups of which formed part. These benefited of the excellent performance of his cracks, and also of the push mediático that supposes a celebration like this.

FC Barcelona and Real Madrid keep another férrea rivalry in this prize, since they are the two clubs that more times have won it. The Barcelona shot in the high of the classification with the golden age of Leo Messi, but Florentino Pérez found answer in two of his bets with the victories of Cristiano Ronaldo and Luka Modric, that allowed him recortar distances and finally empatar to the Catalans.

The equality sustains in 11 entorchados per person, that allow them lead the collective table. For the culés, in addition to the five that obtained Argentinian, conquered it Johan Cruyff (twice), Ronaldinho, Rivaldo, Hristo Stoichkov, Luis Suárez Miramontes. By the 'merengues' were four for the luso, one for the Croat, two for Alfredo Gave Stefano, and one for Fabio Cannavaro, Ronaldo, Luis Figo and Raymond Kopa.

Other entities of the European elite keep in the career by the Balloon of Gold with the two big of LaLiga. After them they situate the Milan and the Juventus with eight footballers rewarded, and the following is a Bayern of Munich that goes down until the five. This Monday could break the equality between Catalans or Madrilenian, or allow that one of his opponents approach to the first place that both share.

The clubs with more Balloons of Gold

FC Barcelona (11):

  • Leo Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015)
  • Johan Cruyff (1973, 1974)
  • Ronaldinho (2005)
  • Rivaldo (1999)
  • Hristo Stoichkov (1994)
  • Luis Suárez Miramontes: (1960)

Real Madrid (11):

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)
  • Alfredo Gave Stéfano (1957, 1959)
  • Luka Modric (2018)
  • Fabio Cannavaro (2006)
  • Ronaldo Nazario (2002)
  • Luis Figo (2000)
  • Raymond Kopa (1958)

Milan (8):

  • Marco go Suffice (1988, 1989, 1992)
  • Kaká (2007)
  • Andriy Shevchenko (2004)
  • George Weah (1995)
  • Ruud Gullit (1987)
  • Gianni Rivera (1969)

Juventus (8):

  • Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985)
  • Roberto Baggio (1993)
  • Zinedine Zidane (1998)
  • Pavel Nevded (2003)
  • Paolo Rossi (1982)
  • Omar Sívori (1961)

Bayern Of Munich (5):

  • Franz Beckenbauer (1972,1976)
  • Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (1980,1981)
  • Gerd Müller (1970)

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 20
FC Barcelona

FC Barcelona - Granada CF

Sunday, 19 of January of 2020 21:00h
Estadio Camp Nou
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read