The FC Barcelona, the club with more Balloons of Gold in the history


The FC Barcelona keeps on being the club with more Balloons of Gold

Published:13/12/2016 - 14:11h

Updated:13/12/2016 - 14:18h

Although Cristiano Ronaldo have carried the prize of this year, the FC Barcelona keeps on being the club that has more Balloons of Gold along his history, mainly thanks to the five awards attained by Leo Messi

Calendar of FC Barcelona

Leo Messi did not achieve to win in this occasion the Balloon of Gold 2016 and this was to stop to the hands of Cristiano Ronaldo, but fits to highlight that the Argentinian star of the FC Barcelona has been able to obtain five prizes of east calibrate along his career futbolística, and everything seems to indicate that they could arrive more taking into account that it only has 29 years.

When Messi wins, the Barça also. And to the reverse. And it is that in 2012 the Argentinian star gave to the Barça his tenth Balloon of Gold, leaving it at the head of the teams with more awards to the best player, whereas the past 11 January 2016 went back it to do after the "Pentaplete" of the Barça in 2015. The second team with more Balloons of Gold is now the Real Madrid with nine awards, that advances to the AC Milan and to the Juventus with a total of eight. The reign of Messi in the world-wide football, however, follows valid.

Since Luis Suárez attained in 1960 the first Balloon of Gold for the FC Barcelona, the list of winners of the Barça has gone growing until today, with a Messi that has achieved four distinctions that confirm to the Barcelona club like the group that more Balloons of Gold has. In total are 11 the achieved by six different footballers that turned into the best player of the world when they dressed the T-shirt of the Barça. Suárez (1960), Cruyff, with two (1973 and 1974), Stoichkov (1994), Rivaldo (1999), Ronaldinho (2005) and Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015) are the golds culés.

In 2012 Leo Messi carried a new Balloon of Gold, the chamber of his particular account and the tenth for the Barça, and in 2016 followed suit carrying the Balloon of Gold 2015. This allowed to the Barcelona group desmarcarse of his immediate perseguidores, although the Real Madrid goes back to be near. In the last 14 editions, the Barça has given an important jump in the number of Balloons of Gold. From 2002 the Barça has been the team that more has won, a total of 6 -Ronaldinho (2005) and Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015).

Leo Messi surpassed in 2012 to Cruyff. With the fourth Balloon of Gold of Leo Messi, the Argentinian surpassed also to Platini, the only footballer up to now that it had carried the prize three years followed, and also to Cruyff and Go Suffice, with three no consecutive awards.

The list of the winners of the Barça is the following:

  • 2015 Leo Messi
  • 2012 Leo Messi
  • 2011 Leo Messi
  • 2010 Leo Messi
  • 2009 Leo Messi
  • 2005 Ronaldinho
  • 1999 Rivaldo
  • 1994 Stoichkov
  • 1973 Johan Cruyff
  • 1972 Johan Cruyff
  • 1960 Luis Suárez

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 9
FC Barcelona

FC Barcelona - Valencia

Sunday, 17 of October of 2021 21:00h
Estadio Camp Nou
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read