Robert Lweandowski poses with his The Best


Lewandowski puts an end to LaLiga's tyranny at the Best awards

Published:18/12/2020 - 08:32h

Updated:18/12/2020 - 08:32h

Robert Lewandowski became the first winner of The Best award not to play in LaLiga. The Pole put an end to the tyranny of the Spanish championship, which until now had had Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Leo Messi as representatives

Calendar of FC Barcelona

The Prizes The Best knew this Thursday for the first time in his short history a winner that does not play in LaLiga. Robert Lewandowski turned into the first footballer that is not playing in any team of the Spanish championship in heaving with this stood out individual award. The Pole went through on of Cristiano Ronaldo, that this time was second, and of Leo Messi, that finished third.

Up to now, in the three editions of these prizes, the winner to better masculine player of the year always had played in LaLiga. Specifically, Real Madrid and FC Barcelona had been the indirectly benefited teams, since they had been Christian, Luka Modric and Messi the victorious of the three last and at the same time the three first deliveries of the The Best.

The 'crack Portuguese, that is in the Juventus of Turín from the 2018, carried the first prize The Best of the history in the year 2017. The one of Madeira won this campaign the Spanish championship and the Champions League with the Madrid, being the maximum goleador of the white group, by what his victory did not surprise to anybody. It marked 42 so many and delivered 12 assistances between all the competitions this season and carried the award.

A year later, in 2018, Modric won the one who up to now is definitely the The Best more controversial. The Croat, that won the League of Champions with the Madrid and arrived to the final of the World-wide with Croatia, surpassed to Ronaldo, that pair surprise of many remained second, and to Kylian Mbappé, that after doing with the World-wide with France finish third. Neither Leo Messi neither Antoine Griezmann, that carried the World-wide with the Frenchmen and the Europe League with the Athletic, were in the final, something that did not like him to many.

The past campaign, nevertheless, few argued the triumph of the rosarino of the FC Barcelona. The '10' at last achieved his prize and surpassed to Virgil go Dijk and to Cristiano, that ene this occasion was third. The central Dutch of the Liverpool, that dreamed with making history after raising the Champions with the 'reds', had to conform with being second. The Argentinian, that annotated 51 goals and gave 20 assistances this course, deserved the award above the rest.

Lewandowski Left to LaLiga are winner for the first time

But three years after the victory of Ronaldo, Lewandowski has removed him this hegemony to LaLiga. The Pole, as I Read the previous year, has done spare merits to win this The Best. It carried the triplete with the Bavarians and went the maximum goleador of the Bundesliga and of the Champions League, with 34 and 15 so many, respectively. In total, annotated 55 targets in 47 meetings the past course, in addition to giving 10 assistances, numbers clearly merecedores of this prize.

Next match of FC Barcelona

Amistosos | Partido único
Inter Miami CF
FC Barcelona

Inter Miami CF - FC Barcelona

Wednesday, 20 of July of 2022 01:30h
Estadio DRV PNK
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read