Real Madrid began its journey in LaLiga 2025/26 accompanied by a controversial victory against Osasuna at the Santiago Bernabéu, where the refereeing decisions tipped the balance.

The match, with a 'white' team without many clear ideas, was resolved thanks to a penalty at 51'. The referee Adrián Cordero decided to call a maximum penalty on Kylian Mbappé.

But the problem with the action is that the new '10' 'merengue' overflowed on the right side of the area and, when Juan Cruz was trying to steal the ball by making a sweep, the Frenchman ended up stepping on the Navarrese player and, with the displacement of the '3', the forward ended up falling.

Although the Osasuna defender ends up taking 'Kiki' with his right leg, the former Paris Saint-Germain player steps on him first, which would be a foul by the latter, turning the play into the biggest controversy of the match.

The Osasuna coach is not convinced of the infraction in the area

In this context, the coach of the 'rojillo' team, Alessio Lisci, argued in post-match statements that Mbappé stepped on Cruz, although he added that it is an action that had to be seen again.

However, he added that his player has his leg “burst” by the Frenchman's stamp, after which the referee ended up whistling the penalty, which until now remains at the interpretation of the fans.

“Live it seemed very clear to me, but then you have to see if it is Mbappé who steps on Juan or the other way around; it seems to me that Mbappé steps on Juan and then Juan hits him. You had to see it,” Lisci pointed out.

Osasuna looks the other way in the 'Mastantuono case'

In this context, before the initial whistle, the match between Real Madrid and Osasuna was already surrounded by controversy, since the inclusion of Franco Mastantuono in the match in the 68th minute could imply a 'trap'.

And it is that, in fact, the 'Casa Blanca' registered the Argentine as a player of the subsidiary. However, he was presented as a star for the first team, making it clear that he will not play in the lower categories of the 'white' team.

Thus, the 'merengue' team would have violated Article 108, section 3, of the General Regulations of the RFEF, which states that “the relationship of filiation or dependency may not be used as an instrument to evade the spirit of the regulatory provisions or for any purpose other than that which is proper and specific to that class of situations.”

After the end of the match, the 'Navarrese' team has 24 hours to challenge the match due to improper alignment. However, until now it has only remained silent in relation to this situation.

On the other hand, against FC Barcelona during the past season, for J27, they decided to report an alleged improper alignment of the Azulgrana team after they aligned Íñigo Martínez after being de-summoned a few days ago by the Spanish national team due to muscle discomfort, said action ended up being dismissed.