Jose Copete le comete una infracción a Lamine Yamal dentro del área


Lamine Yamal's 'swimming pool' or 'robbery'? The VAR 'stolen' a penalty from Barça

Published:26/09/2023 - 23:27h

Updated:27/09/2023 - 00:26h

The duel between Mallorca and FC Barcelona had a referee controversy, since Lamine Yamal suffered a foul inside the area by Jose Copete. However, after the VAR review, the maximum penalty ordered was annulled, which generated a debate about whether the annulment was correct or not

Calendar of FC Barcelona

In the meeting of the Day 7 of LaLiga in Saint Moix, the FC Barcelona did not attain to happen of the tie to two goals against the RCD Mallorca. The duel started with a goal of Vedat Muriqi to the minute eight, taking advantage of an inusitado error in the exit of Marc André Ter Stegen. Nevertheless, the Barça attained empatar to the 41' with a very good so much of Raphinha. Unfortunately, the parity in the electronic did not last long, since in the 45+3' Abdón Prats converted a target that left to the Catalan cast again in disadvantage before going to the changing room.

In a marked party by the rotations in the plantel of Xavi Hernández, the one of Terrassa looked for to readjust the game making changes in the second half. One of them was the entry of Lamine Yamal in the 64' in place of Joao Félix, with the aim to revolutionise the game by the sides. This change had an immediate impact in the duel, no in the statistical, but in a controversial action in the clash.

It was or no infringement on Lamine Yamal?

Immediately, in the 65' produced a played controversial, that involved to the native of Esplugues. The '27', in one of his characteristic incursions by the right side, found with José Crest, defender of the RCD Mallorca, the one who committed him a fault inside the area. In a first moment, pitó the maximum penalty in favour of the FC Barcelona.

Nevertheless, because of the doubt on the played, the referee of the VAR Eduardo Prieto Churches requested him to his colleague, the main Alejandro Muñiz Ruiz that it analysed thoroughly the action. After the review, determined that, although the fault was reckless, there was not a flagrant contact with the right extreme, by what the decision of the penalti revirtió, causing the 'rage' of Lamine Yamal and Xavi Hernández.

What think the trainers of both squares of this controversy played?

Precisely, the technician of Terrassa, in the interview postpartido by part of the media 'DAZN', gave his perspective of the played, affirming: "In any moment touches balloon and have to see if there is contact. The referee has gone to the VAR and has seemed him that it was not. It seems that yes there is a bit contact".

By his part, the technician of the RCD Mallorca, Javier Aguirre, also has gone out to the step to explain his assessment of the action, aseverando: "If this is penalti, as it would say my fellow Medina Cantalejo, is penaltito. It can pitar, yes. Contact there is and the referee has it fucked. The boy already goes with the intention... It is not sufficient to fall . It is fucked to be referee, to me deceive me constantly in the trainings".

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 16
FC Barcelona

FC Barcelona - Girona

Sunday, 10 of December of 2023 21:00h
Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read