Martin Braithwaite, carrying the hands in command after failing a penalty

THE DANISH ASSUMED THE RESPONSIBILITY

Why didn't throw it Griezmann? Araujo caused a penalty and Braithwaite failed it

Published:29/12/2020 - 19:34h

Updated:29/12/2020 - 20:02h

Shortly after that started the Barça-Eibar, Araujo caused a penalty that determined the VAR, after the action was reviewed by Alberola Rojas. Braithwaite shot out

Calendar of FC Barcelona

Martin Braithwaite already had marked some goal of penalti this season 2020-21, but this Tuesday, in the last party of the year, was not able to annotate from the eleven metres shortly after that it gave beginning the meeting. It ran the minute 6 of party when Ronald Araujo caused a penalti, when receiving a clear patada of Arbilla just after touching the balloon.

The referee Alberola Rojas at the beginning did not see the punishable action, but the VAR warned him that it attended to the monitor to see repeated the played and, once saw it carefully, did not doubt in signalling the maximum penalty. It surprised then that it went Braithwaite the attendant to take the balloon and assume the responsibility, when theoretically it would have to have been Antoine Griezmann the manager, to the not being Leo Messi in the field.

The question is that the Danish forward planted the balloon in the penalty spot, took air and, after Alberola Rojas gave the order, shot directly went. Braithwaite Adjusted too much the shot, so much that it left him brushing the left stick of the goal of Dmitrovic, the one who on the other hand had thrown very well to try cut across the spherical.

Therefore, to having gone the shot between the three sticks, in the same direction, is possible that the guardameta Serbian had arrived to time to detain the ball or, at least, divert it. It did not do fault, the balloon crossed the line of put and the acting of the Barça, to the equal that the own Braithwaite, carried the hands in command. Face of circumstances for the Danish, and also for a Griezmann that yielded him the shot when, in theory, would have to have assumed the responsibility.

The fortune did not smile to Braithwaite

It was as it was, the case is that the luck of Braithwaite did not improve in the back minutes. Because, shortly before that arrived to the half hour of meeting, Martin Braithwaite himself celebrated a target. The Barça had freed of the offensive pressure of the Eibar and had mounted a fast attack by the left band, that finished in a big centre raso of Junior Firpo so that 'Braith' finished point-blank.

The Danish went back to adjust and finished with power, at first, adjusting very well the shot. The balloon sank to the bottom of the meshes but, just afterwards, the VAR reviewed the played carefully. After throwing the lines from the room of technology, the referee of the VAR warned to Alberola Rojas of the wrong position of Braithwaite, and cancelled the goal by offside. Late aciaga, for the moment, for the Nordic forward of the Barça. And curious data: in total, to the group culé have him pitado five penaltis in favour in LaLiga Santander this season, with a balance of three failed and two annotated.

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 1
FC Barcelona
Rayo Vallecano

FC Barcelona - Rayo Vallecano

Saturday, 13 of August of 2022 21:00h
Spotify Camp Nou
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read