CHAPRON EXPLAINS REFEREE ERRORS
The crack of a former referee for the arbitration of the historic comeback from Barça to PSG
Published:25/09/2022 - 18:45h
Updated:25/09/2022 - 18:56h
Tony Chapron has broken his silence five years after Barça's comeback against PSG in the Champions League round of 16 in the 2016/17 season. At the time, the referee admits to having lied to Unai Emery
Since the FC Barcelona won his last League of Champions in the season 2014/15, have been few the parties memorables that has left the picture culé in European competitions. One of them, definitely, has been the traced back in the commitment of turn in the eighth of final of the course 2017/17 in front of Paris Saint-Germain, when the then directed by Luis Enrique could revertir the 4-0 of the first crash when imposing by 6-1 in the Camp Nou.
However, this party, even a polish afterwards, has not been exento of controversy. Recently, the ex French referee, Tony Chapron, in statements for 'Channel+', has given to know that the then trainer of the Parisians, Unai Emery, headed to he to consult him on the performance of the referee in the crash that supposed the elimination of the visitors.
In his words, the ancient referee admits to have him mentido to the Basque: "I Thought that it had come to impugn a decision no very juiciosa that had taken, but at all. It said me: Mr. Chapron, have a question that do him on the party of Barcelona. It can explain me the decisions of the referee? When it is referee, it is necessary to remain joined. Him mentí to Unai Emery, said him that it had not seen the party".
Nevertheless, it has not been able to hide by long that sure enough the referee's body had committed errors that night: "I did not want to admit him, although it thought it, that the referee's team made a mistake that night. Surely it is what would have liked him listen but was not the moment. So I did not do it. Nowadays and five years afterwards can say it and perhaps, once withdrawn, is easier to say that we are human and also make a mistake".
Errors from the designation of the referee for the Barça-PSG
In fact, Chapron has admitted that the body rector of the European football had taken for granted that the meeting would be a mere formality after the goleada by part of the French, by what was not very accurate when choosing to the judge of that night: "For the UEFA, the result of the party of gone meant that the crash would be comfortable to arbitrate, a species of 'test' without risk any".
Referee's failures in the Camp Nou
For the ex referee, one of the designated, Benjamin Brand, was not the indicated for that meeting given his little experience, what remained in evidence in his initial sentences: "In the minute 3, the goal of Luis Suárez initiated the traced back of the Barcelona, and the party happened to be a calm subject to a polvorín. He would not have to have been here. In his first decision, the additional referee went in in panic".
Chapron Sustains that this played was determinant for the result: "In the 1-0, the first that did was to look to the another assistant to check if it had to give the goal or no. It is the one who is more far, the one who has less experience, the one who would not have to arbitrate to this level and the one who gave him the turn to the party. It was to speak with the referee, while it was surrounded of players of the Barcelona. It was an authentic disaster. The PSG lost by this error, in which a referee did not know to keep the composure in a moment so delicate".
The so much of the discount, that avoided the possibility of the extention would have relieved the pressure on the referees, whose performance already began to remain in entredicho: "The 3-1 of Cavani removed weight of the shoulders to the referees because with this goal ensured that the eliminatory would not go to the extra time. It is something that appreciates when you are in a situation of so much stress".
The assessment in the played of penalti
The controversy would go back after a possible maximum penalty was not sanctioned like such near of the end: "Another key moment is when in a counterattack of the PSG in the minute 85, the another referee assistant no pita penalti on Gave María. Aytekin Saw lastrado by the performance of the assistants. In the following action, Neymar had of a direct free shot that would change completely the future of the party".
Likewise, the referee would have made a mistake with a penalti conceded to the Barça: "The one of the 5-1 was not it, exists contact but Suárez helps a lot with the simulation. In a moment like this for pitar a penalti have to be very safe, but do not concede it. Besides,it could not be yellow, if the pitas is red. Here it sees that the referee was exceeded by the situation. It is a fault of lucidity".
Finally, Chapron sustains that the elimination of the culés would have left backwards it sucedido, but finally did not go east the result: "If the Barcelona had not classified the same the referee's performance would have remained in the forget, but did not go like this. In the last instant occurred the unthinkable. It is a context that never will see again. Aytekin Happened of the paradise to the hell".