Mariano Díaz celebrating his goal in front of the Villarreal

OFFSIDE IN THE GOAL OF MARIANO

Controversial goal by Mariano in Madrid's tie in Villarreal

Published:21/11/2020 - 19:00h

Updated:21/11/2020 - 19:00h

The 1-0 of Real Madrid, the work of Mariano Díaz, could have been canceled due to a previous offside by Lucas Vázquez, who according to the VAR and the referee did not intervene in the play. A controversial move that should be analyzed carefully

Calendar of FC Barcelona

The Real Madrid went back to puncture, this time in Villarreal, where did not achieve to do well the goal of Mariano Díaz to the start of the meeting. The dominican annotated in the minute 2 after a big head butt in iron and put in advantage to the madridistas in the Ceramics. Unfortunately for them, the 'groguets' improved in the second part and finished empatando through Gerard Moreno, that transformed a penalti on Samu Chukwueze.

But the tie in Castellón was not exento of controversy and the ones of Zinedine Zidane went back to star a played very debatable in the 1-0 of Mariano. The Catalan received in legal position and his finish to centre of Carvajal is not debatible, but the previous action himself generated a lot of controversy. In fact, half Villarreal went to protest to the referee because the linesman raised the pennant by offside of Lucas Vázquez.

The action began with a genial change of orientation of Toni Kroos that Carvajal controlled. The right side saw then the desmarque of Lucas, that found advanced by half body. But the balloon of the Madrilenian bumped before in Pedraza, that wanted to prevent that the ball happened. The rebound was then to stop to feet of the own Dani, that finish finding the good head butt of his mate.

Justo before the carrilero put the centre, Vázquez tried to arrive to the spherical, but did not arrive to touch it, by what the linesman, that had raised the pennant, went down it quickly. The confusion arrived then to the Ceramics, but Herández Hernández, the referee of the crash, gave validity to the target. From the VAR also did the same, since they understood that the Galician did not affect in no case to the played and to the not touching the ball, was legal goal.

The ex referees think that was legal goal

Although it can have diverse readings, since the canterano white tried to play the spherical, Iturralde González and Andújar Oliver, ex referees of First, ensured after the crash that the so much was entirely legal. "It precipitated when raising the pennant the assistant when seeing to Lucas Vázquez in an offside without influence in the played. The back centre of Carvajal is finished in legal position by Mariano. Tarpaulin of Hernández Hernández when giving by valid the so much", commented Oliver.

By his side, Iturralde also ensured that the error was of the assistant when precipitating raising the pennant. The assistant is consultative, never what signal is a decision. The only that it is definite is when the referee whistles. It is an error of anticipation of the assistant. Lucas Vázquez is offside, but neither interferes in a contrary, neither interferes in the played. It is the same although it go to by the balloon. It had been offside if when it touches the ball the one of the Villarreal is beside him. But it is not the case. It is legal

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 37
Getafe
FC Barcelona

Getafe - FC Barcelona

Sunday, 15 of May of 2022 19:30h
Estadio Coliseum Alfonso Pérez
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Today highlights

Most read