Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi


Messi and Cristiano, head to head by the prize to Best Player of the Century

Published:24/11/2020 - 19:06h

Updated:24/11/2020 - 19:06h

The Globe Soccer Awards have given to know a list of 25 footballers, between which stand out Messi and CR7, those who will compete by the prize to Better Player of the Century

Calendar of FC Barcelona

Although they no longer play in the same league, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo follow competing for seeing who is the best player of the last years, now, under a different context. Both have been nominated to the Best Player of the Century, in the Globe Soccer Awards, beside other 23 footballers that lived his career between the two first decades of the 21st century.

Aditionally, the two cracks of the world-wide football will measure to Robert Lewandowski and to Mohamed Salah, footballers of the Bayern of Munich and of the Liverpool, respectively, in search to obtain the prize to Better Player of the Year 2020. This will be a hard contention, since the Pole posits like greater candidate, thanks to the triplete that achieved with the Bavarian club during the campaign 2019-20.

By his part, the Egyptian extreme consecrated like champion of the Premier League of England with the group of Anfield Road, being one of the artífices direct of the achievement of the title. During the season, the same annotated 23 goals in 48 meetings, delivering also 13 assistances, general numbers that left marked Salah no only thanks to his performance in the league of England, but in the rest of the competitions in which it participated the Liverpool.

Messi and Cristiano, by the Best of the Century

The past season and the current development of Lionel Messi and of Cristiano Ronaldo will not be the only factors that determine if any of the two will be rewarded in the ceremony of the Globe Soccer Awards, on 7 December. His stood out performance during the 20 years that have passed of the 21st century also could mean a new award for any of the two emblematic footballers, also will compete by the prize to Better Player of the Century.

This if, this contention seems to be even more complicated that the one of the prize to Better Player of the Year, since the other nominated are historical footballers, with big attainments in his backs. In this sense, the complete list of options for the prize is the following: Andrea Pirlo, Andriy Shevchenko, Andrés Iniesta, Arjen Robben, Cristiano Ronaldo, David Beckham, Fabio Cannavaro, Francesco Totti, Frank Lampard, Gianluigi Buffon, Iker Boxes, Kaká, Kylian Mbappé, Leo Messi, Luis Figo, Luka Modric, Manuel Neuer, Mohamed Salah, Neymar, Philipp Lahm, Robert Lewandowski, Ronaldinho, Ronaldo, Sergio Bouquets, Steven Gerrard, Xavi, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Zinedine Zidane.

Next match of FC Barcelona

La Liga | Jornada 17
FC Barcelona

Real Betis - FC Barcelona

Wednesday, 1 of February of 2023 21:00h
Estadio Benito Villamarín
Buy tickets
Calendar FC Barcelona
Related Content
Today highlights

Most read