Rubén Vezo, sending to corner a ball clearly with the arm

THE VAR SIGNALLED CORNER

CONTROVERSY: The Barça protested a penalty by clear hands of Vezo

Published:13/12/2020 - 22:51h

Updated:14/12/2020 - 02:59h

Rubén Vezo cleared a ball to corner with the arm, and the VAR understood that he did it of a haphazard form, perhaps promoted by a possible previous fault of Braithwaite in the fight

Calendar of FC Barcelona

When hardly they were missing two minutes so that it fulfilled the hour of party, the FC Barcelona protested a played that it could have been key and have him benefited notably, although neither the referee neither the VAR decided to signal it. In a conflict with Martin Braithwaite, Rubén Vezo went to the floor and cleared to corner the ball with the arm, clearly, tenth of second before doing the gesture of clear with the head.

The repetition showed clearly how the defender of the Raise fell to the flat after the struggle with Braithwaite and, with will or no, diverted the path of the balloon with the arm so that it went out by the background line. Justo afterwards did the gesture with the head to dissemble, and after the protest of the Danish forward of the Barça so much Vezo like some of his mates alleged to the referee that the touch had been with the testa.

It was lie, obviously, but in any case the protests of ones and others did not affect in at all to the initial decision. After the review of the VAR, determined that the played was not the sufficiently clear (regarding will to touch the balloon with the arm or mere inertia) as to be punished with penalti, by what took out the kickoff of corner without that they had more claims.

The true is that where himself there was a big division was in the social networks, with a lot of users doing upsetting in that it would have to have pitado penalti, whereas others denied it and compared the played with the clear of Umtiti in the final minutes of the crash, also something doubtful when hitting the balloon in a hand that the French had hit to the body.

The difference, this yes, roots in that the arm of Umtiti was hit to the body, whereas the one of Vezo no. It was as it was, the reality is that for the majority of referee's analysts did not have to signal maximum penalty in any of the two cases, by what the arbitration of Of Boroughs Bengoetxea and the referees of the VAR would have been equitativo for the two parts (at least in this appearance).

Messi finish deciding the crash

Fortunately, the FC Barcelona did not need of this maximum penalty for saldar the commitment with victory. In the minute 76 of party, a theft of balloon in the zone of three chambers left to Leo Messi only in front of the goalkeeper, planting with a strong shot and crossed the 1-0 that it would be definite. Three points more than necessary for the aspirations of the culés, that breathe something calmer.

Related Content
Today highlights

Most read